Wright on the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
    • #18279
      Mark Wheeler
      Forum Owner

      ATLANTA – Florida running back Nay’Quan Wright earned a spot on the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List, the All Spots Association of Fort Walton Beach announced Thursday.

      Wright was also named to the Doak Walker Watch List, honoring the nation’s best running back. The Miami Gardens, Fla. native saw action in 12 games last season and rushed for 326 yards with a touchdown. He caught 14 passes for a total of 178 yards, including a career-long of 51 vs. Vanderbilt. A three-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll, he averaged 27.2 yards on the ground per game and 14.8 yards per reception in the 2021 campaign.

      Established in 2005, the Wuerffel Trophy honors college football players who serve others, celebrate their impact, and inspire greater service in the world. A member of the National College Football Awards Association, the Wuerffel Trophy is presented annually to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership achievement on and off the field. It is the first major award honoring the character of service to others.

      The Wuerffel Trophy is named after Heisman Trophy winner, College Football Hall of Famer, former NFL quarterback, and renowned humanitarian Danny Wuerffel, whose life mission is to inspire greater service in the world. Wuerffel led the University of Florida to four SEC Championships and the Gators’ first National Football Championship as the team’s star quarterback. The 1996 Heisman Trophy winner set 17 NCAA and Florida records and won a myriad of other awards including the Maxwell Award, the Davey O’Brien Award, and The William V. Campbell Trophy, presented to the nation’s top scholar-athlete. As a nationally recognized humanitarian, Wuerffel inspires leaders to use their influence to make a positive impact.

      Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 1, and finalists will be announced on Nov. 22 with the formal announcement of the 2022 recipient is scheduled to be made on Dec. 8.

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Never miss the latest news from Inside the Gators!

Join our free email list