OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame announced today the 14 semifinalists for the 2019 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award, awarded to the best defensive back in college football, as junior defensive back CJ Henderson was named to the list of semifinalists. The award is based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character.

This year's list includes 14 of the nation's best defensive backs, representing seven conferences and two independents, as Henderson is one of four SEC selections named to the list.

Henderson has recorded 16 tackles, including a sack for a loss of nine yards, on the season thus far. Despite having only appeared in five games this season due to injury, the Miami, Fla. native leads the Gators' defensive back unit with nine pass breakups this season.

The award recipient is selected by the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award National Selection Committee, which boasts members of the NCFAA, an Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame in-house award committee, former Paycom Jim Thorpe Award recipients, and sportswriters and college football journalists throughout the country.

The 2019 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award winner is selected from the three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards Presented by Gildan and broadcasted live on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019.

Below is the full semifinalists list for the 2019 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award:

Luq Barcoo, San Diego State, Sr.
Essang Bassey, Wake Forest, Sr.
Douglas Coleman III, Texas Tech, Sr.
Grant Delpit, LSU, Jr.
Alohi Gilman, Notre Dame, Sr.
AJ Green, Oklahoma State, Sr. *Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Fan Vote Winner*
CJ Henderson, Florida, Jr.
Jevon Holland, Oregon, So.
Xavier McKinney, Alabama, Jr.
Tanner Muse, Clemson, *Gr.
Jeffrey Okudah, Ohio State, Jr.
JR Reed, Georgia, Sr.
Elijah Riley, Army, Sr.
Amik Robertson, Louisiana Tech, Jr.